Mi barrio y mas

I love it here. The weather is brisk but not cold enough to have to wear a jacket, and the hint of autumn everywhere is so refreshing.

Last night me and my brother stayed with my aunt and uncle and their adorable kids. I love that I will be able to spend to much time with my Japanese family, as most years I do not see them at all.

Mi primo Taku, who is super pumped for Halloween.

My cousin, who is super pumped for Halloween.

Mei is one of the sassiest people I know. And yeah, people in my class, even sassier than Guad.

My babygirl cousin is one of the sassiest people I know. And yeah, people in my class, even sassier than Guad.

AND THE FOOD. Some of it is just really weird (see below) but I stay away from all the suspicious stuff.

Ok so I don't know how to flip this. But it's a NAAN DOG. WTF? I dont know who the fuck came up with this, but this is very typical Japanese.

I can't figure out how to flip this, but it's a NAAN DOG, which is a typical Japanese weird food invention.

ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhh man once

ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhh man once again I don't know how to flip, but breakfast was curry, homemade yogurt with blueberry sauce, and awesome bread. Japanese baked goods are, in my humble opinion, best in the world.

Most people don't eat curry for breakfast in the US - just another reason why I am enjoying it here so much.

Most people don't eat curry for breakfast in the US - just another reason why I am enjoying it here so much.

Probably my favorite thing about being here so far is our apartment. I was half-expecting to see an 8×10 cinderblock cell as our new abode but our crib is FRESHHHHHHHHHH. It’s modern without being caustic, and extremely spacious by japanese standards.

Crib

Crib

Crib

Crib

Also, I am completely in love with the neighborhood, Ichigaya Kagachou. I could not have asked for a better area in which to live. Kagachou is a historical area filled with craftsman and people of artisan skills. It is a dignified, beautiful, traditional place. Most traditional Japanese neighborhoods are village-like…well-preserved gems from the past. This one is renovated and modern but has a great historical feel to it.

A guy cuttin' some wood.

A guy cuttin some wood!

petit parc, two doors down from our apartment

petit parc, two doors down from our apartment

an awesome traditional restaurant just down the block.

an awesome traditional restaurant just down the block.

In short, so far I am just eating up the atmosphere and loving it all.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Mi barrio y mas

  1. Congratulations on making it to Japan… what a great apartment!

  2. Ms. O'B

    Hi Mari! I love your photos (flipped or unflipped) especially the curry! Yummy. Who needs cereal in the morning when you can eat curry. When do your classes start? Get to know the locals but be safe 🙂 Cheers and love, O’B

  3. Anne

    MARI!!!!! This is SO great! It makes me even more excited for you and I love being able to follow your experiences while you are there. It also makes me more excited for our intersession trip in January.
    Cool digs. Keep posting!
    BTW do you mind if I share your blog with a couple intersession goers?
    Much love,
    Anne

Leave a Reply

