school, school, school.

Today was my second day of school, and I must say, I am handling myself very well. I was so nervous on my first day yesterday, I felt physically sick and just was FREAKING out. But the kids are amazing- my first period there was (gender divided) P.E. and the girls were immediately super outgoing and inquisitive. It’s odd, but they both take on a mother role for me and look up to me. The boys in my class…..are probably scared to death of me. Other boys however, are not even close to acting scared of me. It’s hilarious. I have never been called “KAWAII” more times than in the last two days- from boys and girls alike.

uniform, again. In order to get the skirt to a length that I deem sufficiently fashionable I have to fold the waistband over about 3 times. A common question among girls at school is, "how many times do you fold your skirt?" Oh, the pains of trying to look cute.

Me in uniform, again. In order to get the skirt to a length that I deem sufficiently "fashionable" I have to fold the waistband 3 times. A common question among girls at school is, "how many times do you fold your skirt?" Oh, the pains of trying to look cute.

I’m really happy with the whole social situation, but some classes are totally boring. So far I have had PE (tennis), modern social studies, traditional calligraphy, math, english, chemistry, Japanese history, world  history, language arts, and ancient literature—— and this is all within two days! The day seems incredibly long- today was a 7 period day. I can’t help from zoning out when class is a middle aged man mumbling about Chinese history, right before lunchtime. Occasional boringness aside, the teachers are all very accomodating and incredibly nice. I hate the word “nice” but that’s really the best way to describe them. The school’s atmosphere is warm and open. I feel very accepted and right at home.

My big accomplishment today was that I took the subway to school all by myself :3. I know that sounds totally lame but I have no directional skill whatsoever and the fact that all signs are in Japanese doesn’t really make things easier.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “school, school, school.

  1. Beth

    my mom agreed this was the most adorable thing ever. Middlesex is really really good. I MISS YOO MAR MAR!

  2. susan

    Mari, love your blog, it’s beautiful and super interesting. We miss you guys!!

Leave a Reply

