foto update- food, salsa and school festival

i dont know what to call this post, it’ll be a bit of a jumble

Japan is so crazy. Every day I see so many amazing things. The city is so alive… I feel its pulse and I swear it feels mine.

Anyways. I finally got down to downloading some pictures!

FOOD

food from excelsior café- living proof that even Japanese CHAIN STORE food is gorgeous.

food from excelsior café- living proof that even Japanese CHAIN STORE FOOD is gorgeous.

every morning i compile my bento. this one is rice, sweet-glazed yam fries, ginger sauteed broccoli, carrots, and shiitake mushroom with a cherry tomato on top, and sausages! mmmmmm

every morning i compile my bento. this one is rice waaay in the background, sweet-glazed yam fries, ginger sauteed broccoli, carrots, and shiitake mushroom with a cherry tomato on top, and sausages! mmmmmm

A couple nights ago I accompanied my mother to a salsa dancing party! It was held in Ebisu (connoisseur beer-drinkers, this is where Ebisu beer is from) and hosted by my mom’s friend from her Southeast Asian voyages. Everyone calls him “Savage” (pronounced Sa-be-ji), for reasons I assume stem from his wild nature. He’s a good-humored, nice guy and has been dancing salsa, merengue and bachata for 8 years.

Anyone who has heard me talk about dancing knows that I am good at loose improvisation but not choreography. I refrained from dancing for the first part of the party (plus I was probably the only person there under 30) but eventually some ballroom dance teachers rescued me and taught me some moves.

party-goers mid merengue

party-goers mid merengue

BAHAHhaha I was captured by Savage and was laughing the whole time we were dancing

BAHAHhaha I was captured by Savage and was laughing the whole time we were dancing

EXHIBITION

I have been blogging about my school exhibition event for some time now, and it finally happened. It is probably best described through pictures….

So my class made a haunted house- out of cardboard covered in newspaper and "bloody" handprints....heavily taped to stacked tables that formed a maze. It was hard to take pictures of it but it was badass!

So my class made a haunted house- out of cardboard covered in newspaper and "bloody" handprints....heavily taped to stacked tables that formed a maze. It was hard to take pictures of it but it was badass!

in the dark space is a student, waiting to pounce on an unsuspecting customer.

in the dark space is a student, waiting to pounce on an unsuspecting customer.

the sign to our room....i made the ghost, haha. It reads, Sakura-1 (my class name) Ghost House.

the sign to our room....i made the ghost, haha. It reads, Sakura-1 (my class name) Ghost House.

One big selling point of the exhibition is that it is an international school-wide festival. This includes a food court that sold AWESOME FOOD!! Here is a picture of (bland looking but absolutely awesome) Shumai (chinese dumplings) and Martabak (indonesian coconut milk/banana crepe-style pancake). Martabak is definitely one of the most delicious things I've EVER had.

One big selling point of the exhibition is that it is an international school-wide festival. This includes a food court that sold AWESOME FOOD!! The round things in the bowl are shumai (chinese dumplings). There were three different types of shumai- traditional-style shrimp, curry, and pork covered in rice instead of the usual dumpling wrapper. The weird-looking naan-like thing next to it is the Martabak. Martabak, indionesian banana/coconut milk batter pancake, is definitely one of the most delicious things I have ever tasted. EVER.

international!

international!

a food booth

a food booth

)

No, students dont normally dress in yukatas. These are girls manning the school tea ceremony.

my parents at the tea ceremony

my parents at the tea ceremony

walking through the hallway. instead of the normal sailor top i'm sporting our class t-shirt. it has a cherry blossom motif because our class name is "sakura" (cherry blossom).

walking through the hallway. instead of the normal sailor top i'm sporting our class t-shirt. it has a cherry blossom motif because our class name is "Sakura" (cherry blossom).

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

