Umi no Ie

UMI NO IE (beach house)
My relatives own a beach house in Chiba Prefecture, which is about 2 hours by train from where we live. I actually didn’t take that many pictures of the beach (because it was rainy and gray and not too picturesque at the time) but I did take a few at this fish monger’s market…..
NOT QUITE MY CUP OF TEA BUT VERY JAPANESE

2fishie
2cou
DAWWW I don’t think that I could ever look that pleased when surrounded by fish….
2sakana
He got a free dried fish to taste and was so excited!
2takoyaki
2tapo
There was a Takoyaki stand nearby and I just couldn’t resist. Takoyaki are…eh how to describe? They’re made out of savory pancake batter, and while being made in these cast iron skillet-type things the maker drops in a juicy, yummy piece of octopus. They are made into balls and served with mayonnaise (it’s kind of shocking how much mayonnaise Japanese people consume. I am definitely not used to having my food be slathered with mayo if I don’t specify that I don’t want it) and special takoyaki sauce and bonito flakes.
Soooooooooooooooooo gooooooooooooooooooooooood

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

