BEST MEAL EVER

I have a favorite restaurant.
It’s called Porto Venere and is the most amazing Italian restaurant EVER. Located in Urayasu, Chiba Prefecture, it has not only the most phenomenal, clean, well-executed, perfect food but the best ambiance. Made to look like a mystical underwater grotto, everything from the light fixtures to the table settings are incredibly chic (and one of the waiters is really cute, hahaha). It manages to be totally high class and GORGEOUS but really down to earth as well.
SO
GOOD.

netting
My aunt, uncle, petits cousins, brother, mother, and I all went there as our last dinner in Japan, and nothing could have been better.

boeuf
First off was a wagyu (Japanese Beef) carpaccio, which was succulent and subtle and topped with a really well-seasoned salad.
Next, I was tortured by watching other family members get their food before mine….
mmmm
This was my uncle’s dish, a Spaghetti Pescadora….I didn’t try it but it looked great.
THEN CAME MY FOOD.
kao
“Don’t take my picture, I want to eat!”
2 times out of the three I have been here, I ordered the same dish- the first time I made the mistake of not ordering it and upon tasting my mom’s, I knew that I had found a soulmate. It is a completely perfect crab linguine. So amazing, I can’t even describe it. It’s absolutely awesome. I don’t even like crab, and it’s still probably my favorite savory dish of all time.
kani
MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!
mainasulinguine
(and hiding in the presentation is a crab shell…………)

And just when I thought things couldn’t get any better, we ordered dessert.
dessert1
Here, you see milk sorbet (sounds weird but is scrumptious), chocolate mousse, and flan-style pudding……
mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
My favorite plate. All totally delicious. Espresso pannacotta, tiramisu, and crema catalana. The crema catalana was soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo good. For those of you who don’t know what crema catalana is (I didn’t either), it had a frozen creme brulee-style creamy bottom with a crunchy caramelized sugar top, and the flavors were just outstanding. The consistency of the catalana was like unsoft ice cream, had the creamy amazingness of a cheesecake, and tasted like a brown sugar flan. Oh my god. Soooo good.

ANYWAYS sorry to tantalize you but it was hands down the best meal I will have in a loooong time.
It was a perfect way to remind myself that Japanese food is amazing and can’t be beat, and that I will miss it terribly back home. But hey, if you’ve got to go, it’s best to go with a bang……..what a perfect last impression of Japan.
sign

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

